Skip to content
North Northamptonshire Counts — North Northamptonshire, in numbers.Local help →

North Northamptonshire, in numbers

People and living standards

North Northamptonshire council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

North Northamptonshire council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 266,556 in 1991 to 379,569 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

North Northamptonshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 271,582 people in 1996; 379,569 people in 2025. 39.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — North Northamptonshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991266,556
1992268,135
1993268,383
1994269,577
1995270,557
1996271,582
1997272,955
1998275,309
1999278,511
2000282,093
2001285,093
2002287,657
2003290,977
2004293,506
2005297,012
2006301,168
2007306,155
2008309,747
2009312,196
2010314,555
2011317,959
2012322,316
2013325,788
2014330,649
2015335,250
2016341,647
2017347,704
2018351,998
2019354,848
2020356,437
2021360,418
2022363,723
2023369,219
2024375,336
2025379,569
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

North Northamptonshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 58,289 people in 1996; 72,396 people in 2025. 24.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — North Northamptonshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199157,335
199257,909
199358,239
199458,323
199558,516
199658,289
199758,228
199858,545
199959,708
200060,429
200160,562
200260,659
200361,065
200461,174
200561,090
200661,164
200761,737
200862,109
200962,427
201062,927
201163,756
201264,887
201365,482
201466,439
201567,248
201668,404
201769,435
201870,150
201970,376
202070,158
202170,370
202270,862
202371,681
202472,495
202572,396
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

North Northamptonshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 172,414 people in 1996; 236,588 people in 2025. 37.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — North Northamptonshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991169,328
1992170,147
1993169,967
1994170,864
1995171,303
1996172,414
1997173,599
1998175,399
1999177,265
2000179,927
2001182,119
2002184,091
2003186,491
2004188,400
2005191,347
2006195,113
2007198,809
2008200,935
2009201,761
2010202,208
2011203,369
2012203,959
2013204,716
2014206,661
2015208,936
2016212,606
2017216,361
2018218,824
2019220,247
2020221,435
2021224,425
2022226,170
2023229,811
2024233,709
2025236,588
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

North Northamptonshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 40,879 people in 1996; 70,585 people in 2025. 72.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — North Northamptonshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199139,893
199240,079
199340,177
199440,390
199540,738
199640,879
199741,128
199841,365
199941,538
200041,737
200142,412
200242,907
200343,421
200443,932
200544,575
200644,891
200745,609
200846,703
200948,008
201049,420
201150,834
201253,470
201355,590
201457,549
201559,066
201660,637
201761,908
201863,024
201964,225
202064,844
202165,623
202266,691
202367,727
202469,132
202570,585
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 359,523 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · North Northamptonshire · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh12,7263.5%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African11,0173.1%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups8,1752.3%
White324,66490.3%
Other ethnic group2,9410.8%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 10% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

North Northamptonshire council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £10,070 per person in 1997; £23,357 per person in 2024. 131.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — North Northamptonshire council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199710,070
199810,176
199910,559
200011,049
200111,435
200211,703
200312,120
200412,688
200513,244
200613,869
200714,829
200815,024
200915,090
201015,003
201115,293
201215,861
201316,406
201416,910
201517,842
201617,834
201718,200
201818,363
201918,958
202019,273
202119,792
202220,787
202322,056
202423,357
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

North Northamptonshire council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -5.1% in 1997; -10% in 2024. 4.9 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — North Northamptonshire council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-5.1
1998-6
1999-6.7
2000-7.2
2001-7.6
2002-7.5
2003-7
2004-6.5
2005-5.8
2006-5.3
2007-3.4
2008-4.6
2009-5.8
2010-7.1
2011-6.1
2012-6.1
2013-6.3
2014-6.5
2015-6.2
2016-7.4
2017-7.6
2018-10
2019-10
2020-8.2
2021-9.4
2022-9.5
2023-9.8
2024-10
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

61.8%

21 March 2021 · North Northamptonshire council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

17.1%

21 March 2021 · North Northamptonshire council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

19.9%

21 March 2021 · North Northamptonshire council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.9%

21 March 2021 · North Northamptonshire council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£258,000

July 2026 · North Northamptonshire council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£992

August 2026 · North Northamptonshire council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

No counts returned for this exact present-day area code in the 2001 census table. Older boundaries have not been reassigned by name or population share.

No counts returned for this exact present-day area code in the 2011 census table. Older boundaries have not been reassigned by name or population share.

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.